Doubrava River, Vysočina

Vysočina Region

The Vysočina Region is an administrative division of the Czechia located in the south-central part of the country. The word Vysočina means more or less “Highlands” in the Czech language. The region is divided into the following districts (okresy): Jihlava, Havlíčkův Brod, Pelhřimov, Třebíč, Žďár nad Sázavou. The western part of the Vysočina Region lies in the historical land of Bohemia, while the eastern part is in Moravia. Therefore, the region’s coat of arms contains both the Bohemian Lion and the Moravian Eagle, as you can see below.

If you don’t come from Czechia, you might not have heard the name Vysočina before, but the region certainly has a lot to offer. It boasts three UNESCO World Heritage Sites, which is more than any other region in the country.

These are: the Pilgrimage Church of St John of Nepomuk near Žďár nad Sázavou, the magnificent town of Telč with its Renaissance and Baroque architecture and the Jewish Quarter and St Procopius’ Basilica in the town of Třebíč. Vysočina has also two mountain ranges, namely the Žďárské vrchy and the Jihlavské vrchy.

All in all, the Vysočina Region is quite attractive for tourists and below we present some of the most amazing places in the region.

Vysocina Region on the Map
Cityscape of Telč, Vysočina, Czechia
The Cityscape of Telč
Třebíč is a small Moravian town in the Vysočina Region, situated on the Jihlava river, about 65 km west of Brno. Centuries ago, it belonged to the most important towns ...
Zelená Hora (a literal English translation is “Green Mountain”) is a small hill near the town of Žďár nad Sázavou in the Vysočina Region. On its own, the hill probably ...
Telč is a beautiful small town in Jihlava District in the Vysočina Region. There are lots of beautiful towns in Czechia, but Telč certainly belongs to the most attractive ones ...