South Bohemian Region

The South Bohemian Region is an administrative unit of Czechia, located, as you might expect, in the south of Bohemia, but it also contains a small part of southwestern Moravia. The region is divided into the following districts (okresy): České Budějovice, Český Krumlov, Jindřichův Hradec, Písek, Prachatice, Strakonice and Tábor. The beautiful town of Český Krumlov is one of the highlights of the region and one of Czechia’s most frequently visited places outside of Prague.

South Bohemian Region on the Map
Czech Name
Jihočeský kraj
Capital City
České Budějovice
10,056.79 km2 (3,882.95 sq mi)
Highest Elevation
Plechý: 1,378 m (4,521 ft)
South Bohemian Region Coat of Arms

Below are some amazing places in this region. The list will be automatically updated as the site grows.

České Budějovice is the capital city of the South Bohemian Region. It is internationally famous for its beer, known in other countries as Budweiser, a…
Červená Lhota is a Renaissance chateau in the small village of the same name in southern Bohemia, near the town of Jindřichův Hradec. The location is…
Český Krumlov is a stunningly beautiful town in southern Bohemia, and after Prague, Czechia’s second most visited tourist attraction. The historic cen…
Písek is a medium-sized town on the Otava river in the South Bohemian Region, about 44 km northwest of České Budějovice. The town is most famous for t…
Šumava National Park, called in Czech: Národní park Šumava), is one of four national parks in Czechia. It is located in two southern regions bordering…
Promote Czechia, Share This Page with Your Friends!