Central Bohemian Region

The Central Bohemian Region is the largest administrative region in Czechia. It is divided into the following districts (okresy): Benešov, Beroun, Kladno, Kolín, Kutná Hora, Mělník, Mladá Boleslav, Nymburk, Praha-východ, Praha-západ, Příbram, Rakovník. The administrative center of the region is Prague. However, as you can see in the map below, Prague itself does not belong to the Central Bohemian Region, because it forms a region of its own.

Central Bohemian Region on the Map
Czech Name
Středočeský kraj
Capital City
11,014.97 km2 (4,252.90 sq mi)
Highest Elevation
Tok: 865 m (2,838 ft)
Central Bohemian Region CoA

When you’re staying in Prague, the Central Bohemian Region is just perfect for day trips. Below is a small selection of amazing places in this region.

Kutná Hora is a small town in Central Bohemia, about 70 km east of Prague. It may be a small town today, but centuries ago it competed for importance…
This great view of the Vltava river was taken from the place called in Czech Vyhlídka Máj, meaning more or less “the Máj Lookout”. Wonderful, isn’t it…
Karlštejn Castle (hrad Karlštejn) is a large medieval castle located in the town of the same name near the capital city Prague. Karlštejn Castle is ve…
Karlštejn is a small market town in the Central Bohemian Region, named after the famous castle located there. The castle is obviously the most importa…
Bohemian Paradise, known in Czech as Český ráj, is a region and a protected landscape area about 90 kilometers north-east of Prague. It belongs to the…
Promote Czechia, Share This Page with Your Friends!